On Rollback with Snapper

  1. Snapper creates a folder called .snapshot under the root of the filesystem.
  2. It then creates a subvolume called .snapshot
  3. If you have never used Snapper's rollback feature, the .snapshot subvolume by default appears in the .snapshot folder, as you normally mount the default subvolume
  4. However once you rollback, you have to manually mount the .snapshot folder. This is because you are no longer mounting the default subvolume.
  5. .snapshot folder is not write protected. Each snapshot folder contains info.xml, which contains the information about the snapshot. If info.xml is lost, Snapper can no longer roll back to previous snapshots. DO NOT DELETE info.xml.

References